Asparagus.

The Website:

I am not done yet. Making a website is very time-consuming and difficult to learn. I don’t know even close to enough of what I should know about website-making. I’ll figure it out before next Wednesday. Somehow. This is something I should have lost more sleep over earlier in the semester, because now, with the semester coming to an end and all of my work piling up, I don’t really have the sleep to lose over this assignment, but I have to do it, so… this last couple of weeks is going to suck.

 

The Photo Narrative:

Well, that was the first time I publicly shared feelings like that with a group of people (Although that was mostly due to the theme of the class – vulnerability). I’m glad it was with this class. I liked this assignment. Despite the fact that this assignment was perfect for me (it was almost completely visual and had to do with the not-most-positive of feelings… like my art!), I still had to put lot of thought into it. How do you tell a story with only pictures? I figured it out before I realized that we actually had to use words too, which helped with the story-telling part of the assignment. This is the work I’m the most proud of and least embarrassed of showing to people.

 

Audio Documentary:

I liked the end product for the most part, but not as much as the narrative. Actually doing the project was a pain because editing audio is one of the most tedious processes I’ve ever participated in. I think I could have done a little more with this project, content-wise, which is why I plan to edit it for my final project. Also, content-wise, this project was interesting for me (and hopefully others) because I think that people don’t typically see athletes as being physically or mentally vulnerable beings, so I hope this project presented the athlete in a new light. I like looking at things and showing them in atypical ways. That’s what I liked most about this project (and what I liked about the Video “Un-Documentary” too).

 

Video “Un-Documentary”:

This project was fun. I was mostly happy with the end product (I liked it better than the audio documentary), but there are some minor changes I’d like to make with the editing (transitions), and I’d like to add some of my friend’s writing to her interview, somehow. I’d also like to redo my conclusion. I feel like it’s a little rambly (I just made that word up) and doesn’t quite get to the point. But it was a lot of fun to make and to reveal something that most people don’t see.

 

Meme Remix:

I actually really loved this project. Since it didn’t really have to do with vulnerability (although, I guess you could relate gender roles in the media to vulnerability) I had a lot of freedom and got to address an issue that I find to be very important, gender roles in the media and their influence on children. Using found materials was fun. Old commercials are hilarious and ridiculous and awful all at the same time. It was like making a video collage. Very cool. Choosing, cutting, and placing video was fairly time-consuming, but it was fun to do, so I didn’t realize how long it took until I left my seat for the first time in about 6 hours.

Artist Statement:

Eh… It was required.

 

Overall, I really enjoyed exploring and using all of these different mediums to create artwork. It’s not my usual work, but I’m proud to have added all of these projects to my portfolio. And although learning the different programs was irritating, I like that I know how to use them because they really are fantastic tools. This class was a lot of work, but it was rewarding.

About thehudsonbay

I'm Mallory. I made this blog for one of my classes, but have yet to blog on it. I like art and running and music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

