It’s not who you are underneath, but what you do that defines you

My vulnerability project will about work.

I come from a very blue-collar area, and I was raised to respect the spiritual essence of a hard day’s work. That said, I’d like to examine the different types of work and how one may achieve their own spiritual awakening through their work.

pehrs3

Against what may be considered better judgment, my mother and step-dad opened their own pizza shop in the summer of 2003.  Though Pehr (my step-dad) worked as a fry cook for some time, and my mother as a waitress, neither had any formal business or cooking experience. At the time, Pehr was working in a restaurant produce warehouse and Ma had a part-time job online. After work, Pehr would mix sauces and cheese from the warehouse, making his own concoctions in his home oven. After a few years of honing his recipe, and taking tips from local restaurants, the two set up a corporation, rented a storefront, and Pehr’s Pizza was born.

Although it was rocky at first (it seemed like forever before they turned their first profit), it has since become a staple in my hometown. Moreover, they thoroughly enjoy they work they do (which is a severe understatement). Together, they serve as a perfect example of what I hope to investigate in my project: I seek to find those who set out on their own, for better or worse, in pursuit of what they loved doing.

pehrs2

It is my intention to illuminate some misconceptions about work—chiefly this persistent notion that, in order to be happy, one must find a well-paying job. While comfort is always better than not, money is hardly the solution to one’s workman woes. More often than not (as I will show), the happiest are those among us with the least (or, at least, those among us who are doing what they enjoy). Second I would like to look into the life of the opposing party—that is, those held in offices, or on union cards, against their will; failed businesses; and the unemployed, and contrast them to those in similar positions, who revel in their work (or even the lack thereof).

 

It is often said that the workman becomes his (or her) job—I’d like to show that there is room for the opposite: Your job can become an extension you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s not who you are underneath, but what you do that defines you

  1. cerrax says:

    I’ve always felt this way about work and it’s astounding how many people question my choices of employment (I get asked a lot about why I quit a decent bank job to work in a gas station). Your premise rings with truth, plus the title of this post is from Batman Begins, which is awesome.

  2. vonbearshark says:

    Thanks, man. I would be interested in talking to you more about your decision, if you’re okay with that? It sounds like it’s exactly what I’m looking for

Leave a Reply

