I Love Ground

If you have ever seen Anchorman than you know that Brick “loves lamp.” Well, it just so happens that I love ground. It’s not a joke; I love everything about the ground, especially when my two feet are planted firmly on top of it. Let me explain further, I am acrophobic. Don’t worry, I am one step ahead of you, I happen to know exactly what you are thinking. What in the hell is acrophobia? Well I’ll tell you, acrophobia is an “abnormal dread of being in a high place.”[1] Let me clue you into a few more details of my personal life. I have a heart murmur; I suffer from heart palpitations; I have been diagnosed with various anxiety disorders. No wasting time, let me paint you a mental image. It’s freezing outside, the wind is howling past your face, and you are beyond nauseous. Somehow you have arrived at the top of the Eiffel Tower in Paris, France. You don’t know why, but you do it, you look down. You see the ground hundreds of feet below you, but the most important feet, your feet, are not on it. You feel it coming, but there is nothing you can do to stop it. You vomit and look around embarrassed, hoping no one else has noticed. The overwhelming sensation of anxiety hits in full force. Your heart rate rapidly increases. Your heart is no longer beating rhythmically. Everything goes black. It’s okay, you’ve just woken back up, your feet are on the ground again and you are still alive. Did I mention that I love ground?

Subject to Address: Tall scary things

Story to be Conveyed: Acrophobia is real

Significance: Heights make me feel vulnerable. Taking pictures from atop of tall structures will help me encounter my fear face to face. Thus, hopefully I will be able to become less vulnerable when in acrophobic situations.


[1] Acrophobia – Definition and More from the Free Merriam-Webster Dictionary

Merriam-webster.com (2012) Acrophobia – Definition and More from the Free Merriam-Webster Dictionary. [online] Available at: http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/acrophobia [Accessed: 15 Jan 2013].

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Love Ground

  1. cerrax says:

    I got queasy just from reading this! I think it’s very powerful that you will face a major fear of yours in order to communicate it to others. Very cool!

Leave a Reply

