Who Am I?

With a whole two decades under my belt you would think I could come up with a great explanation of who I am, but honestly I ask myself the same question every single day–– Who am I really?

I know I have been around for twenty years, but I feel as if I am still in the process of finding myself. I am getting there, slowly but surely. You know how life goes, though. Things are ever-changing, and even when I think I have everything figured out something comes along and changes me completely. I guess what i am trying to say is there are things I do in my life that make me who I am, but I just don’t know what words I could use to define me so I’ll tell you about what I think is most important about who I am.

I am a sister:

I have one brother, and 68 sisters. No, that is not a typo.

 

My brother and I used to constantly be at each other’s throats, but now that we are older we are closer than ever. I don’t even think he knows, but he is one of my biggest role models. He teaches me about some of the things that are important in life that I never thought about, or even agreed with before.

 

IMG_1855

(Matthew and I at a Penguins hockey game)

He taught me that in every person labeled as “bad”, there is good and finding that in those people is very important. That is one thing that I truly believe in because if we could all try, there would be a lot less hate in this world and that is something that is so very important to me to strive for.

 

 

Now, I know 68 sisters seems a little over the top, but there is a catch…I’m a sorority girl.

 

People honestly laugh at me sometimes when I tell them, because when you meet me the last thing most people think is that I am in a sorority.

 

I am a sister of Theta Phi Alpha at Pitt, and it is what is shaping me into who I am today more than anything ever will. I just joined this past semester, but already I have made life-long friendships, and finally have real responsibility for the first time in my life.

bidnight

( Some of my sisters and I)

The experience has taught me to value honor. I finally have something I can strive to make better and work for. The most important thing I have gotten out of this so far is passion which goes hand in hand with honor. It is wonderful to feel strong for a real cause whether it be philanthropic work, or even just being a proud Theta Phi!

Being a sister is what is helping to piece together this complex puzzle of who I am. Of course there are other parts, but like I said before its just a really tough question for me to find answers to. I figure its only a matter of time, though.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

